Eligible Universities

The rankings cover private universities located in the Asia-Pacific region, including a sub-ranking for Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) countries.

For a university to participate, it must fulfill the following criteria:

  1. Be regulated as a private institution of higher learning (post-secondary education) under local laws
  2. Awards its own locally accredited degrees at Bachelor level and Master level
  3. Be located in:
    1. One of the 10 ASEAN member states, and/or
    2. A country whose capital city is in Asia-Pacific

ASEAN countries: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar,  Philippines, Singapore,  Thailand and Vietnam

Asia Pacific countries: ASEAN countries and Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Cook Islands, Cyprus, East Timor, Fiji, Georgia, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Mongolia, Myanmar,  Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Niue, Norfolk Island, North Korea, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Qatar, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tonga, Tokelau, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu and Yemen

Some examples of universities excluded from the ranking:

  • A private college that only awards Bachelor degrees
  • A private business school that only awards only Master and Doctor degrees
  • A private university based in Russia, Guam or New Caledonia (because Moscow, Paris and Washington DC are not located in the Asia-Pacific region), and
  • A private university that only awards the degrees of another university, e.g. an overseas branch campus or franchise operator

Some examples of universities included in the ranking:

  • A private “institute of technology” (i.e. no “university” in its name) that awards Bachelor and Master degrees
  • A private university owned by a government agency, and
  • A private university owned by a foreign organization but awarding its own local degrees